Music

ItalianChinese (Traditional)FrenchGermanGreekRussian
Overview of services

Music

Obecní dům

The history of the site where Prague’s Municipal House now stands is both interesting and complex. The adjacent Powder Gate, a unique fragment of Prague’s Old Town fortifications dating from the Gothic period, recalls the times when an important trade route arrived at this point. This was probably only one of many reasons why King Wenceslas IV. decided in the late 14th century to establish his residence in this area, beside the fortification walls. The residence was given the name King’s Court.

Smetana Hall

The hall is dominated by the organ, which was made by J. Tucek, around which is a gilded­bronze relief of B. Smetana by F. Hergesel. The organ was renovated by the firm Vleugels, which is the successor of the original service subcontractor to J. Tucek of the firm E. F. Wachler. From the National Museum collections the original organ bench was returned to the hall and was recently accompanied by a new electronic one. The original richly ornamented curtain and covers in the honorary boxes have been renovated. The decoration was completed by curtains on the doors and windows of the balcony. The chandeliers above the stage and balcony which were originally equipped with arched lamps made by F. Krizik have been replaced by replicas made according to photographs taken in 1912.

Gregr Hall

The GREGR HALL, originally called the Debating Hall, is decorated by a ceiling fresco triptych - Life, Poetry, and Death, dating from 1911 and three later paintings, Love Song, Battle Song and Burial Song.

Rudolfinum

The Rudolfinum is one of the most momentous Neo-Renaissance structures in the Czech Republic. The concept of serving as multi-purpose venue for various arts made it quite unique in Europe even at the time of its construction. The construction of the Rudolfinum was funded by Česká spořitelna which, on the occasion of its 50th anniversary, provided 2 million guldens. The monumental building housing a concert hall, a gallery, and a museum was the joint project of two renowned Czech architects, Josef Zítek and Josef Schultz. The grand opening of the Rudolfinum was held on 7 February 1885 in the presence of Rudolph, Archduke of Austria and Crown Prince of Austria, Hungary and Bohemia, after whom the building was named.

The very first concert of the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra took place at the main concert hall of the Rudolfinum in 1896. The baton was then held by composer Antonín Dvořák after whom the concert hall later received its name. Today, the Rudolfinum is home to the Czech Philharmonic. Our mission is to offer concerts, exhibitions, and educational programs. We are a state-supported organization made up of three parts: the Czech Philharmonic orchestra, the administration of the Czech Philharmonic, and the Rudolfinum Gallery.

Basilica of St. George

Romanesque basilica of St.George is the oldest preserved building of the Prague Castle. It was founded aroung 920 during the reign of Vratislav I as a single-naved church from which only the foundations were preserved. The building was enlarged during the reign of Boleslav II in 973 as the Prague Bishopry and the Convent of St. George were established; a short triple-naved basilica in a pre-Romanesque style was founded. Until 1005 the basilica served as the official burial place of the Přemyslid family. The basilica was elongated into its present length after a fire in 1142 when the towers were built (northern one named Eva and the southern one called Adam) and a triple-naved crypt under the main choir too.

The Church of St Nicholas

The Church of St Nicholas, the most famous Baroque church in Prague, stands along with the former Jesuit college in the centre of the Lesser Town Square. A Gothic parish church consecrated by Prague Bishop Tobiáš in 1283 stood at the site until 1743; nearby was the Romanesque Rotunda of St Wenceslas, which had been built in memory of the miracle that occurred during the transfer of Wenceslas’ body from Stará Boleslav to Prague Castle, as mentioned in medieval legends.

The Prague Crossroads

The Prague Crossroads, an international spiritual centre, is one of the projects of Dagmar and Václav Havel Foundation VIZE 97, which is also intended to preserve and administer this unique space. Prague Crossroads is located in a long-deconsecrated church, founded by St Wenceslas in 927 A.D.

The main inspiration for the creation of the Prague Crossroads came from the former Czech President - the dissident, writer and dramatist Václav Havel. His concept was an evocative venue for all kinds of meetings, where lectures, discussions, concerts, performances, exhibitions, meditation and happenings can take place in a spirit of respect for the multicultural diversity of the modern world. Its main objective is to respond to the now widely felt need for open-minded and creative dialogue among people of different faiths, convictions and professions about the present state of our civilisation, the dangers threatening it, and the hopes for the future.

Klementinum

Large complex of Clementinum is situated between Karlova street and Křížovnická street. Main frontage is fronts to the Mariánské square, where is the seat of Town-council Prague. Charles Bridge as well as Staroměstské square is about 5 minutes away from Clementinum. Clementinum, built on area of 2 hectare, is one of largest building complex in Europe. The most attractive parts of the sightseeing tour in Clementinum are Astronomical Tower, Mirror Chapel and Baroque Library hall.

Mirror chapel

The chapel consecrated to the Annunciation of our Lady was built after 1720. Its harmonious decoration - where the marbled walls and floors are well-matched with its gilded stucco ornamentation, with parget colours and ceiling frescoes, with the final touch of a mirror-decorated ceiling - make it a unique sight. The fresco was created by Jan Hiebl, each of the ceiling bands illustrates a verse of the Hail Mary prayer. The mural paintings with themes from the life of Virgin Mary were created by Vaclav Vavrinec Reiner. The Mirror Chapel is the only historic building of Klementinum open to public every day during the concerts held the

Main menu
I am:
Contact

| NW