+420 608 310 953
ItalianChinese (Traditional)FrenchGermanGreekRussian
Menu ikona Menu

Czech Reublic and History

The origins of the independent Czech state date back to the second half of 9th century. In the period from 9th to 13th century, the Czech countries were ruled by the princes of the Přemyslid dynasty.

The Czech princedom was elevated to kingdom in the beginning of 13th century.

Czech countries experienced its greatest fame in the 14th century, under the rule of the Czech king and Roman emperor Charles IV. Luxembourg. Under his rule, Czech countries became a leading European metropolis and the centre of culture and erudition.

In 1526–1918, Czech countries were a part of the Austrian monarchy and the Habsburgs ascended to the Czech throne. The most famous Habsburg ruler, who resided in Prague, is said to be the emperor Rudolph II.

After the assassination of Franz Ferdinand d'Este, archduke and successor to the Austrian-Hungarian throne, which happened 28th June in Sarajevo, the then Countries of the Czech Crown were united with the present-day Slovak Republic and the first Czechoslovak Republic was established in 1918.

Forty-year long communist regime, which began in 1948, changed – among others – the name of the state to the Czechoslovak Socialistic Republic.

The Velvet Revolution in 1989, which successfully overthrew the hitherto communist regime in Czechoslovakia after the fall of the Berlin Wall, brought democracy again. For a few next years, Czech and Slovak Federative Republic was established.

On the 1st January 1993 the republic was divided into the Czech Republic and the Slovak Republic. Currently the Czech Republic is a modern and democratic country with rich cultural and historic. patrimony.

CZR has been a member state of NATO since 12.3.1999 and a member of the European Union since 1.5.2004.